16 Oct 2020

Measurement Uncertainty: do we exceed the (speed) limit?

Thursday 19th November 2020

12:00 GMT | 13:00 CET | 07:00 ET

Register Now
Prof. Sten Westgard

Presenter: Prof. Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Astrid Petersmann

Head of Clinical Chemistry and Labortory Medicine at the University of Oldenburg

Webinar Description:

Measurement Uncertainty is a key element in laboratory medicine. We have learned to monitor quality of laboratory results using internal and external quality controls. Analytical quality has improved over time, focusing on the technical side. In modern medicine though, where precision medicine or individualized medicine are pronounced, it becomes clear that medical needs have to be put more into focus of laboratory medicine.

Is the analytical quality sufficient for health care? How does Measurement Uncertainty affect clinical decisions? Where does Measurement Uncertainty occur? These questions will be exemplified by common diseases and the respective analytes used in diagnosis and monitoring. At the end participants may decide: Do they exceed the (speed) limit?

Key learning objectives:

  • Concepts of Measurement Uncertainty
  • Impact of Measurement
  • Uncertainty on cut-off diagnoses such as Diabetes mellitus
  • Contributing factors to Measurement Uncertainty

Who Should Attend:

  • Clinical, hospital, and reference laboratory stakeholders.
  • Laboratory directors, laboratory managers, quality managers, information technology managers.
  • Clinical laboratory scientists and technicians.
  • Clinical diagnostics platform, equipment, and solutions providers, manufacturers, and suppliers.
Register Now